SOL
2182
You are here: / MSL project news
PAGES : 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

2012-08-17
6.jpg

PASADENA, Calif. -- The scientists and engineers of NASA's Curiosity rover mission have selected the first driving destination for their one-ton, six-wheeled mobile Mars laboratory. The target area, named Glenelg, is a natural intersection of three kinds of terrain. The choice was described by Curiosity Project Scientist John Grotzinger of the California Institute of Technology during a media teleconference on Aug. 17.

 
2012-08-16
pia16028_watkinsnavdeckNLA_397681736EDR_F0020000AUT_04096M1-br2.jpg

PASADENA, Calif. -- NASA will host a media teleconference at 10:30 a.m. PDT (1:30 p.m. EDT), Friday, Aug. 17, to provide a status update on the Curiosity rover's mission to Mars' Gale Crater.

Mission controllers at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., are checking out Curiosity's subsystems and 10 instruments. Curiosity is in the opening days of a two-year mission to investigate whether conditions...


 
2012-08-14
pia16056-brp.jpg

PASADENA, Calif. -- The first color image taken from orbit showing NASA's rover Curiosity on Mars includes details of the layered bedrock on the floor of Gale Crater that the rover is beginning to investigate.

Operators of the High Resolution Imaging Science Experiment (HiRISE) camera on NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter added the color view to earlier observations of Curiosity descending on its parachute, and...


 
2012-08-13
pia16028_watkinsnavdeckNLA_397681736EDR_F0020000AUT_04096M1-br2.jpg

PASADENA, Calif. -- NASA will host a media teleconference at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT) on Tuesday, Aug. 14, to provide a status update on the Curiosity rover's mission to Mars' Gale Crater.

The Mars Science Laboratory spacecraft delivered Curiosity to its target area on Mars at 10:31 p.m. PDT, Aug. 5 (1:31 a.m. EDT, Aug. 6). Mission controllers at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., spent last...


 
2012-08-11
pia16051_featured-hpfeat2.jpg

NASA's Curiosity rover has shipped back to Earth high-resolution color images of its surroundings on Mars, sharpening our views of an intriguing channel, layered buttes and a layer of cobbles and pebbles embedded in a finer matrix of material. The images show a landscape closely resembling portions of the southwestern United States, adding to the impression gained from the lower-resolution thumbnail images released earlier this week.


 

PAGES : 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38
© 2016 CHEMCAM Team     Site Map   Contacts