SOL
1941
You are here: / MSL project news
<< Return 
   
NASA Hosts Teleconference About Curiosity Rover Progess
A Clear Look at the Rover Deck
A Clear Look at the Rover Deck

PASADENA, Calif. -- NASA will host a media teleconference at 10 a.m. PDT (1 p.m. EDT) on Tuesday, Aug. 14, to provide a status update on the Curiosity rover's mission to Mars' Gale Crater.

The Mars Science Laboratory spacecraft delivered Curiosity to its target area on Mars at 10:31 p.m. PDT, Aug. 5 (1:31 a.m. EDT, Aug. 6). Mission controllers at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., spent last week beginning initial checks of Curiosity's 10 instruments and updating software for its two-year mission to investigate whether conditions have been favorable for microbial life and preserving clues in the rocks about possible past life.

Audio of the event will be streamed live online at: http://www.nasa.gov/newsaudio. Visuals will be available at the start of the event at: http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/msl/telecon/ .

For more information about NASA's Curiosity mission, visit: http://www.nasa.gov/mars andhttp://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/msl .

2012-241b

Guy Webster/D.C. Agle 818-354-6278 / 818-393-9011
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
guy.webster@jpl.nasa.gov / agle@jpl.nasa.gov

Steve Cole 202-358-0918
NASA Headquarters, Washington
stephen.e.cole@nasa.gov

Source: Jet Propulsion Laboratory

© 2016 CHEMCAM Team     Site Map   Contacts